Profile Photo
Cynthia M. LummisREPRepublican United States Senator
Years of Age
Years of Experience
WYResidence (state)

Cynthia Marie Lummis Wiederspahn (LUMM-iss; born September 10, 1954) is an American attorney and politician serving as the junior United States senator from Wyoming since 2021. A member of the Republican Party, Lummis served as the U.S representative for Wyoming's at-large congressional district from 2009 to 2017. She served in the Wyoming House of Representatives from 1979 to 1983 and from 1985 to 1993, in the Wyoming Senate from 1993 to 1995, and as the Wyoming State Treasurer from 1999 to 2007. Lummis was elected treasurer of Wyoming in 1998 and reelected without opposition in 2002. She chaired Mary Mead's gubernatorial campaign in 1990 and Ray Hunkins's gubernatorial campaign in 2006. She also served on Bob Dole's presidential steering committee in Wyoming and chaired Mitt Romney's 2012 presidential campaign in Wyoming. Lummis unsuccessfully sought to be appointed to replace Senator Craig L. Thomas in 2007. She was elected to succeed Barbara Cubin in the U.S. House of Representatives in the 2008 election, defeating Democratic nominee Gary Trauner. During her tenure in the House, she was the first Wyoming representative to serve on the Agriculture committee since 1941, chaired the Science Subcommittee on Energy, co-chaired the Congressional Caucus for Women's Issues, and was active in the Congressional Western Caucus and Freedom Caucus. She served until her retirement in 2017, and was succeeded by Liz Cheney.

Voterly's Issue Scores  (1 - 30 of 30)

Below lists the position this politician has taken on a political issue. The star rating represents the politician's prioritization and action on the issue based on data collected by relevant interest groups. Select an issue to view a more in-depth explanation of each rating.

Special Interest Group Ratings

Interest Groups That SUPPORT
Interest Groups That OPPOSE
Average Score

Disclaimer: A special interest group's positions on issues are gathered from various reputable sources including the organization's website, social media accounts, press releases, and other public communications. Special interest group politician ratings are provided by Positions and ratings are subject to change and we may experience delays, interruptions, or errors, as a result. If you believe this information is inaccurate, please submit a problem report. Submit Report.

0 / 30

Campaign Funding

Total Raised
Total Spent
Cash on Hand
Financial Data Source: Center for Responsive Politics
Education5 - 5 of 3
University of Wyoming
University of Wyoming
BS Biology
University of Wyoming
BS Animal Science
Past Positions1 - 11 of 11
United States Senate, Wyoming
2021 - Current
United States House of Representatives
2009 - 2017
State of Wyoming
1999 - 2007
Wyoming State Senate
1993 - 1995
Interim Director
Office of State Lands and Investments, State of Wyoming
1997 - 1998
General Counsel
Office of the Governor
1995 - 1997
Wyoming Supreme Court
Lummis Ranch
1976 - Current
Sweetgrass Development
Trump/Pence Transition Team
Other Experience1 - 21 of 21
Board Member
Cheyenne Frontier Days
Advisory Board, Center for the Rocky Mountain West, University of Montana
Ruckelshaus Institute for Environment and Natural Resources, University of Wyoming
Wyoming Stock Growers Agricultural Land Trust
Wyoming Women's History House, Laramie Foundation
Trinity Lutheran Church
Board Member
Leadership Wyoming
Former Chair
Western State Treasurer's Association
Laramie Foundation
Cheyenne's Vision 2020
Wyoming Business Alliance
American Women's Financial Education Foundation
Former Chair
Subcommittee on the Interior
Former Member
Subcommittee on Health Care, Benefits, and Administrative Rules
Former Member
Subcommittee on Federal Lands
Former Member
Subcommittee on Energy and Mineral Resources
Former Member
Oversight and Government Reform Committee
Former Member
Natural Resources Committee
Former Member
Subcommittee on Water, Power, and Oceans
Tea Party Caucus
Subcommittee on Royalty Management, United States Department of the Interior