Profile Photo
Thomas M. BakkDEMDemocrat State Senator, District 3
Years of Age
Years of Experience
MNResidence (state)

Thomas M. Bakk (born June 8, 1954) is a Minnesota politician and member of the Minnesota Senate. Currently independent and a former member of the Minnesota Democratic–Farmer–Labor Party, Bakk represents District 3, which includes portions of Cook, Koochiching, Lake and St. Louis counties in the northeastern part of Minnesota. He has served in the Minnesota legislature since 1995 and is a former majority leader and minority leader.

Voterly's Issue Scores  (1 - 4 of 4)

Below lists the position this politician has taken on a political issue. The star rating represents the politician's prioritization and action on the issue based on data collected by relevant interest groups. Select an issue to view a more in-depth explanation of each rating.

How Voterly Calculates issue scores

Special Interest Group Ratings

Interest Groups That SUPPORT
Interest Groups That OPPOSE
Average Score

Disclaimer: A special interest group's positions on issues are gathered from various reputable sources including the organization's website, social media accounts, press releases, and other public communications. Special interest group politician ratings are provided by Positions and ratings are subject to change and we may experience delays, interruptions, or errors, as a result. If you believe this information is inaccurate, please submit a problem report. Submit Report.

0 / 4
Education5 - 5 of 3
Mesabi Community College
University of Minnesota, Duluth
BA Labor Management Relations
University of Minnesota, Duluth
BA Business Administration
Past Positions1 - 6 of 6
Minority Leader
Minnesota State Senate
2017 - 2021
Minnesota State Senate
2012 - Current
Minnesota State Senate
2002 - 2012
Minnesota State House of Representatives
1994 - 2002
Former Majority Leader
Minnesota State Senate
Labor Representative
Other Experience1 - 3 of 3
Former Member
Legislative Coordinating Commission, Minnesota State Senate
Former Member
Environment and Natural Resources Finance Committee
Former Ranking Minority Member
Rules and Administration Committee, Minnesota Senate