Stephen Breyer
Profile Photo

Stephen Breyer


Associate Justice of the Supreme Court

United States


  (1 of 1)  
1 First Street, Northeast Supreme Court of the United States
Washington, DC. 20543
Profile Photo

Stephen Breyer

Associate Justice of the Supreme Court
Years of Age
Years of Experience
FLResidence (state)

Stephen Gerald Breyer (BRY-ər; born August 15, 1938) is an American lawyer and jurist who has served as an associate justice of the Supreme Court of the United States since 1994. He was nominated by President Bill Clinton, and replaced retiring justice Harry Blackmun. Breyer is generally associated with the liberal wing of the Court.After attending Stanford University, Breyer attended the University of Oxford as a Marshall Scholar and graduated from Harvard Law School in 1964. After a clerkship with Associate Justice Arthur Goldberg in 1964–65, Breyer was a law professor and lecturer at Harvard Law School from 1967 until 1994. He specialized in administrative law, writing textbooks that remain in use today. He held other prominent positions before being nominated to the Supreme Court, including special assistant to the United States Assistant Attorney General for Antitrust and assistant special prosecutor on the Watergate Special Prosecution Force in 1973. He also served on the First Circuit Court of Appeals from 1980 to 1994. In his 2005 book Active Liberty, Breyer made his first attempt to systematically communicate his views on legal theory, arguing that the judiciary should seek to resolve issues in a manner that encourages popular participation in governmental decisions.



  (1 - 2 of 5)  
Harvard University
Stanford University
Harvard Law School
Lowell High School
Magdalen College

Past Positions

  (1 - 2 of 2)  
Associate Justice of the Supreme Court of the United States
United States of America
Judge of the United States Court of Appeals for the First Circuit
United States of America
1980 - 1994

Other Experience

  (1 - 2 of 3)  
Dana-Farber Cancer Institute
Judicial Conference of the United States
1990 - 1994
United States Sentencing Commission
1985 - 1989