Profile Photo
Cynthia AxneDEMDemocrat United States Representative, IA-3
Years of Age
Years of Experience
IAResidence (state)

Cynthia Lynne Axne (née Wadle; born April 20, 1965) is an American businesswoman and politician serving as the U.S. representative from Iowa's 3rd congressional district since 2019. A member of the Democratic Party, she defeated incumbent Republican David Young in the 2018 election. The district is anchored in the state capital, Des Moines; it includes much of the state's southwest quadrant, including Council Bluffs. Following the defeat of Abby Finkenauer and the retirement of Dave Loebsack from Congress, Axne became the sole Democrat in Iowa's delegation in 2021. She is the dean of Iowa's House delegation.

Voterly's Issue Scores  (1 - 26 of 26)

Below lists the position this politician has taken on a political issue. The star rating represents the politician's prioritization and action on the issue based on data collected by relevant interest groups. Select an issue to view a more in-depth explanation of each rating.

How Voterly Calculates issue scores

Special Interest Group Ratings

Interest Groups That SUPPORT
Interest Groups That OPPOSE
Average Score

Disclaimer: A special interest group's positions on issues are gathered from various reputable sources including the organization's website, social media accounts, press releases, and other public communications. Special interest group politician ratings are provided by Positions and ratings are subject to change and we may experience delays, interruptions, or errors, as a result. If you believe this information is inaccurate, please submit a problem report. Submit Report.

0 / 26
Education5 - 5 of 3
Northwestern University
MBA Business Administration, Management and Marketing
2000 - 2002
University of Iowa
BA Journalism
Drake University
Certified Public Manager, Political Science and Government
Past Positions1 - 7 of 7
United States House of Representatives, Iowa
2019 - Current
Axne Consulting Group, Limited Liability Company
2014 - 2016
Creation Agents
2014 - Current
Division Administrator
Iowa Department of Natural Resources
2010 - 2014
Performance Results Administrator
Iowa Department of Management
2007 - 2010
Director of Training and Development
Iowa Department of Administrative Services
2005 - 2007
Manager of Leadership Development
Chicago Tribune Media Group
2000 - 2003
Other Experience1 - 4 of 4
Sacred Heart Catholic Church
John Pappajohn Entrepreneurial Center, University of Iowa
Little Brothers, Friends of the Elderly
Former Member
Subcommittee on Conservation and Forestry, United States House of Representatives